Classical Chinese Medical Publications

This is a list of some of the most famous chinese medical publications which form the basis of Acupuncture and TCM theory.

Yellow Emperor's Inner Classic (Huang Di Nei Jing)

Compiled around 100 BC. The oldest classic of traditional Chinese medicine consisting of two books:

"The Simple Questions" (Su Wen) - 81 chapters (Covers the essential theory of internal medicine such as the energetical physiology, pathogenesis and pathology).

"The Spiritual Axis" (Ling Shu) - 81 chapters. (Covers the practical aspects of Chinese medicine and develops the different therapeutical principles of acupuncture and moxibustion).

Yellow Emperor's Inner Classic - Great Simplicity (Huang Di Nei Jing Tai Su) ca 610

Comprehensive notes and commentary on the Huang Di Nei Jing. Also known as the Great Basics.

Yellow Emperor's Inner Classic - Categorisation of the Bright Hall (Huang Di Nei Jing Mintang Leicheng)
(ca 610)

Classic of Difficulties (Nan Jing)
Han Dynasty

An explanation of some of the more difficult to understand passages from the Nei Ching.

Classic of the Pulse (Mai Jing)
Han Dynasty

Written in the late Han dynasty by Wang Shu-he. It is the first book in the Chinese medical literature entirely devoted to pulse diagnosis.

Discussion on Cold-induced Disorders (Shanghan Lun)
Zhang Zhongjing (ca. 150-219 AD)

The first book to advocate the analysis of medical conditions in accordance with the six channels (taiyang, yangming, shaoyang, taiyin, shaoyin, and jueyin) and eight syndromes (yin/yang, outer/inner, hot/cold, and excess/deficient).

Concise Prescriptions from the Golden Casket (Jingui Yaolue Fang Lun)
Zhang Zhongjing - Han Dynasty ca 220

Companion text to the Shanghan Lun.

Systematic Classic of Acupuncture and Moxibustion (Zhenjiu Jaiyi Jing)
Huangfu Mi - Jin Dynasty ca 282.

Discusses medical theory, acupuncture and moxibustion. Also known as the Yellow Emperor's Jiayi Canon on Acupuncture and Moxibustion).

[Click here to return to the previous menu]